Steve Knightley: Roadworks Ahead 2019 | Ropetackle Arts Centre

WHAT'S ON arrow

Music, lesley's kitchen, Seated

Steve Knightley: Roadworks Ahead 2019

Saturday 9th February 2019 - Starts 8pm

TICKET PRICE: £19.50

Roadworks Ahead, Steve Knightley-style, or Steve Knightley announces 2019 solo tour ͚Roadworks͛As a long-serving troubadour of the folk and acoustic music scene, master songwriter and storyteller Steve Knightley has spent much of his life on the road, collecting songs, stories, anecdotes and observations – with the odd disaster along the way.

Best known for his work with the award-winning acoustic roots group Show of Hands, Steve has performed in venues from the Albert Hole in Bristol to the Albert Hall in London. His impressive back catalogue of songs are modern classics, still filling the folk clubs and festival fields, and forever influencing the next generation of folk artists.

In 2019, Steve once again takes to England͛s highways and byways to present ͚Roadworks͛–a show which builds on the success of his sell-out 2018 solo tour ͚Songs and Stories͛. This is a stripped-back, one-man show that͛s infused with wit, warmth and alchemy, beautifully illustrated by his trenchant songs of history, love and conscience. Anyone who͛s ever wondered what it͛s like to be a touring musician will love this rare insight into life on the road. Steve says, ͞A life on the road certainly has its challenges, but I can͛t say I͛d do it differently if I had to start all over again.

The format of ͚Songs and Stories͛, and now ͚Roadworks͛ allows me to share the stories I͛ve collected over the years, along with plenty of observations along the way. It͛s just me, a radio mic and a couple of guitars which is daunting and liberating in equal measures, and it͛s enabled me to build elements into my shows which I͛ve never been able to before. The reception from the 2018 tour was fantastic – it really seemed to strike a chord with people – so I͛m looking forward to 2019͛s tour.͟2018͛s tour was a sell-out, so early booking is advisable.

Ropetackle Cafe Suppers Shoreham

We're serving delicious food before this event from 6pm! Mains cost £8, desserts £3.50, or the two-course meal for £10.00. Advance booking necessary, to do so simply email lesleyskitchenltd@gmail.com. Click on the icon to see what's on the menu.

Main: Mediterranean chicken with pasta and salad / butterbean and veg stew with potatoes and veg

Dessert: chocolate brownie and ice cream


What's On - Music

Date
Artist
Event
Time
Price

The Papa George Band

Fri 18th Jan
Music, Blues
Fri 18th Jan £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Basco

Mon 21st Jan
Folk, Music
Mon 21st Jan £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Eban Brown – Former Lead Singer of the Stylistics

Fri 25th Jan
Music, Soul, motown, lesley's kitchen
Fri 25th Jan £25.00
8pm
£25.00

Steve Knightley: Roadworks Ahead 2019

Sat 9th Feb
Music, lesley's kitchen
Sat 9th Feb £19.50
8pm
£19.50

Tot Rockin’ Beats

Sun 10th Feb
Music, Family, Kids
Sun 10th Feb £10.00
2pm
£10.00

Breabach

Sun 17th Feb
Folk, Music, Live, lesley's kitchen
Sun 17th Feb £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Knight and Spiers

Wed 20th Feb
Music, Folk-rock, lesley's kitchen
Wed 20th Feb £18.00
8pm
£18.00

The Unravelling Wilburys

Sat 23rd Feb
Music, lesley's kitchen
Sat 23rd Feb £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Lo’Jo

Sun 24th Feb
Music, World Music
Sun 24th Feb £26.00
8pm
£26.00

Mari Wilson

Thu 28th Feb
Music, pop, 80s, lesley's kitchen
Thu 28th Feb £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Sarah Gillespie

Fri 1st Mar
Music, Jazz, pre-show suppers
Fri 1st Mar £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Manran

Sun 3rd Mar
Folk, Music, gaelic, pre-show suppers
Sun 3rd Mar £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Andreas Tophoj and Rune Barslund

Wed 13th Mar
Folk, Music
Wed 13th Mar £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Martin Turner (Ex Wishbone Ash)

Sun 24th Mar
Music
Sun 24th Mar £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Sarah Jane Morris & Antonio Forcione

Fri 29th Mar
Music, Jazz, pre-show suppers
Fri 29th Mar £20.00
8pm
£20.00

Richard Durrant – April ’19

Thu 4th Apr
Music, Guitar
Thu 4th Apr £16.00
7:30pm
£16.00

Blue Rose Code

Wed 10th Apr
Music
Wed 10th Apr £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Jackie Oates

Fri 12th Apr
Folk, Music
Fri 12th Apr £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Flook

Fri 3rd May
Music
Fri 3rd May £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Stacey Kent

Sat 4th May
Music, Jazz
Sat 4th May £27.50
8pm
£27.50

Geno Washington & The Yo Yo’s

Sat 11th May
Music, World Music, Soul
Sat 11th May £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Hue and Cry

Sat 1st Jun
Music
Sat 1st Jun £18.50
8pm
£18.50

Fleetwood Bac

Sat 26th Oct
Music
Sat 26th Oct £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Chris Wood

Sun 24th Nov
Music
Sun 24th Nov £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Download Brochure

Panto