Mari Wilson | Ropetackle Arts Centre

WHAT'S ON arrow

Music, pop, 80s, lesley's kitchen, Seated

Mari Wilson

Thursday 28th February 2019 - Starts 8pm

TICKET PRICE: £18

Mari Wilson first arrived on the scene in the early 80s with her skyscraper beehive hairdo bizarre sense of fashion and fully choreographed twelve piece band The Wilsations. Mari’s live shows were spoken about as an event – pure entertainment. A mainstay of Top Of The Pops (and an avid collector of Tupperware), Mari released six hit singles, the biggest being ʻJust What I Always Wantedʼ and ʻCry Me A Riverʼ, both taken from her classic album ʻShowpeopleʼ.

Since then Mari has never stopped touring, writing and recording.

Nominated in 2017 for a Daytime Emmy Award for Best Original Song for her composition, Moon and Back for U.S. TV Show The Young and the Restless, the last few years have been an eventful time:-

Sensational sell-out shows with her 8-piece band The New Wilsations at numerous summer festivals, Wilton’s Music Hall and Bush Hall where Mari was joined by special guest Marc Almond. Mari returned the favour by performing a duet with Marc as Soft Cell’s surprise guest at the O2.  She’s also been touring as guest singer with Heaven 17. 

Mari’s critically acclaimed 2016 album Pop Deluxe, (her album of songs previously made famous by Dusty, Cilla, Petula and Sandie) continues to be a big part of her fabulous show, together with her well known hits and a few surprises.

Mari’s audience is mesmerised by not only her voice but her spontaneous wit and natural storytelling, testament to 38 years of touring.

This event is sponsored by The Tap House

 

 

Ropetackle Cafe Suppers Shoreham

We're serving delicious food before this event from 6pm! Mains cost £8, desserts £3.50, or the two-course meal for £10.00. Advance booking necessary, to do so simply email lesleyskitchenltd@gmail.com. Click on the icon to see what's on the menu.

Main: chicken and lentil hotpot with potatoes and veg / spicy leek and bean stew with potatoes and veg

Dessert: bread and butter pudding with ice cream


What's On - Music

Date
Artist
Event
Time
Price

The Papa George Band

Fri 18th Jan
Music, Blues
Fri 18th Jan £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Basco

Mon 21st Jan
Folk, Music
Mon 21st Jan £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Eban Brown – Former Lead Singer of the Stylistics

Fri 25th Jan
Music, Soul, motown, lesley's kitchen
Fri 25th Jan £25.00
8pm
£25.00

Steve Knightley: Roadworks Ahead 2019

Sat 9th Feb
Music, lesley's kitchen
Sat 9th Feb £19.50
8pm
£19.50

Tot Rockin’ Beats

Sun 10th Feb
Music, Family, Kids
Sun 10th Feb £10.00
2pm
£10.00

Breabach

Sun 17th Feb
Folk, Music, Live, lesley's kitchen
Sun 17th Feb £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Knight and Spiers

Wed 20th Feb
Music, Folk-rock, lesley's kitchen
Wed 20th Feb £18.00
8pm
£18.00

The Unravelling Wilburys

Sat 23rd Feb
Music, lesley's kitchen
Sat 23rd Feb £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Lo’Jo

Sun 24th Feb
Music, World Music
Sun 24th Feb £26.00
8pm
£26.00

Mari Wilson

Thu 28th Feb
Music, pop, 80s, lesley's kitchen
Thu 28th Feb £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Sarah Gillespie

Fri 1st Mar
Music, Jazz, pre-show suppers
Fri 1st Mar £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Manran

Sun 3rd Mar
Folk, Music, gaelic, pre-show suppers
Sun 3rd Mar £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Andreas Tophoj and Rune Barslund

Wed 13th Mar
Folk, Music
Wed 13th Mar £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Martin Turner (Ex Wishbone Ash)

Sun 24th Mar
Music
Sun 24th Mar £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Sarah Jane Morris & Antonio Forcione

Fri 29th Mar
Music, Jazz, pre-show suppers
Fri 29th Mar £20.00
8pm
£20.00

Richard Durrant – April ’19

Thu 4th Apr
Music, Guitar
Thu 4th Apr £16.00
7:30pm
£16.00

Blue Rose Code

Wed 10th Apr
Music
Wed 10th Apr £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Jackie Oates

Fri 12th Apr
Folk, Music
Fri 12th Apr £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Flook

Fri 3rd May
Music
Fri 3rd May £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Stacey Kent

Sat 4th May
Music, Jazz
Sat 4th May £27.50
8pm
£27.50

Geno Washington & The Yo Yo’s

Sat 11th May
Music, World Music, Soul
Sat 11th May £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Hue and Cry

Sat 1st Jun
Music
Sat 1st Jun £18.50
8pm
£18.50

Fleetwood Bac

Sat 26th Oct
Music
Sat 26th Oct £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Chris Wood

Sun 24th Nov
Music
Sun 24th Nov £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Download Brochure

Panto