Gryphon: ReInvention | Ropetackle Arts Centre

WHAT'S ON arrow

Music, Seated

Gryphon: ReInvention

Friday 25th October 2019 - Starts 8pm

TICKET PRICE: £20

Since their last appearance at Ropetackle last autumn,  Gryphon have released an all-new studio album of ‘specially written, previously unheard material – and this comes all of 41 years after their 5th album, way back in 1977.

No-one could ever pigeonhole the legendary and unpredictable Gryphon. They appeared on BBC Radios 1, 2, 3 and 4, all in the same week. Creative, fresh and different, they played prog rock festivals, folk clubs, cathedrals and at the National Theatre.

ReInvention returns to their early connection with Lewis Carroll’s Alice books, where they found their name. Graeme Taylor has set the White Knight’s song ‘A-Sitting on a Gate’ into an epic 11 minute extravaganza .

Brian Gulland provides four new compositions, displaying his wide influences from 20s English humour, through harrowingly massive church organ chordal sequences, New Age recorder, to some strident and stirring full-on electric rock riffs.

Graham Preskett also contributes 4 new compositions, in a mid-70s Gryphon style,  adding some Celtic influence, and demonstrating his experience in writing filmic music. Graham is not only invaluable for his writing, but is also a multi-instrumentalist employing his talents on violin, mandolin, harmonica and keyboards with great aplomb.

Singer Dave Oberlé provides creative percussion, whilst alongside founder member, Brian Gulland on bassoon and bass crumhorn, the extraordinarily virtuosic Andy Findon shines on clarinets, saxes  and flutes.

So what is Gryphon’s music? It’s just as it always was – imaginative, quirky, dazzling yet full of humour. Every album and gig utilises at least 40 instruments, so the textures are varied and unfamiliar.

Gryphon is the antidote to genres. Whatever you expect, you’ll get something different. Come along on 25th October and see them prove that ReInvention has certainly been worth the wait.


What's On - Music

Date
Artist
Event
Time
Price

Hits of ’69

Sat 7th Sep
Music, 60's
Sat 7th Sep £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Hatful of Rain

Fri 13th Sep
Folk, Music
Fri 13th Sep £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Paul Lamb & The King Snakes

Sun 22nd Sep
Music, Blues
Sun 22nd Sep £15.50
8pm
£15.50

Damien O’Kane & Ron Block

Wed 25th Sep
Folk, Music
Wed 25th Sep £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Martha Tilston (incl. venue levy)

Fri 4th Oct
Folk, Music
Fri 4th Oct £18.00
8pm
£18.00

The Leylines

Sat 5th Oct
Folk, Music, Wordfest
Sat 5th Oct £12.00
8pm
£12.00

Wordfest Party with OldPlay

Sun 13th Oct
Music, Wordfest
Sun 13th Oct £8.00
8pm
£8.00

The Tweed Project

Thu 24th Oct
Folk, Music
Thu 24th Oct £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Gryphon: ReInvention

Fri 25th Oct
Music
Fri 25th Oct £20.00
8pm
£20.00

Fleetwood Bac

Sat 26th Oct
Music
Sat 26th Oct £18.00
8pm
£18.00

The Pirates of Penzance

Fri 1st Nov
Music, Opera
Fri 1st Nov £16.00
7:30pm
£16.00

Strictly No Stilettos

Sat 2nd Nov
Music, Saturday Sessions
Sat 2nd Nov N/A
2pm
N/A

The Paul McKenna Band

Thu 7th Nov
Folk, Music
Thu 7th Nov £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Sea Dogs and Troubadours

Thu 21st Nov
Folk, Music
Thu 21st Nov £10.00
8pm
£10.00

Chris Wood

Sun 24th Nov
Music
Sun 24th Nov £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Belshazzar’s Feast

Tue 3rd Dec
Folk, Music
Tue 3rd Dec £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Download Brochure