Danny Dorling | Ropetackle Arts Centre

WHAT'S ON arrow

Spoken Word, Seated

Danny Dorling

Tuesday 26th March 2019 - Starts 8pm

TICKET PRICE: £10, £8 friends

Lakin McCarthy presents

RULE BRITANNIA: Brexit and the End of Empire

Can we blame Brexit on the legacy of the British Empire?

Is ours a nation as much at odds with its own history as with Europe? And is Brexit the cure for Britain’s unhealthy relationship with its past?

In this talk Danny Dorling looks at the impact of the long drawn-out end of the British Empire on the Brexit vote….and asks whether the rupture could have a silver lining.

Dorling who is Professor of Geography at the University of Oxford and a frequent commentator on TV and radio, argues that now is the hour to turn our attention to what really went so very wrong for Britain: accepting gross inequality.

An authoritative, insightful and entertaining look at our controversial past, the anxiety-filled present….and the possibility of a fairer future.

‘He is that rare University professor; expert, politically engaged and able to explain simply why his subject (inequality) matters’ The Guardian


What's On - Music

Date
Artist
Event
Time
Price

China Crisis

Sat 12th Jan
Music, pop
Sat 12th Jan £20.00
8 pm
£20.00

The Papa George Band

Fri 18th Jan
Music, Blues
Fri 18th Jan £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Basco

Mon 21st Jan
Folk, Music
Mon 21st Jan £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Tot Rockin’ Beats

Sun 10th Feb
Music, Family, Kids
Sun 10th Feb £10.00
2pm
£10.00

Breabach

Sun 17th Feb
Folk, Music, Live
Sun 17th Feb £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Knight and Spiers

Wed 20th Feb
Music, Folk-rock
Wed 20th Feb £18.00
8pm
£18.00

The Unravelling Wilburys

Sat 23rd Feb
Music
Sat 23rd Feb £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Lo’Jo

Sun 24th Feb
Music, World Music
Sun 24th Feb £26.00
8pm
£26.00

Mari Wilson

Thu 28th Feb
Music
Thu 28th Feb £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Manran

Sun 3rd Mar
Folk, Music, gaelic
Sun 3rd Mar £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Andreas Tophoj and Rune Barslund

Wed 13th Mar
Folk, Music
Wed 13th Mar £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Martin Turner (Ex Wishbone Ash)

Sun 24th Mar
Music
Sun 24th Mar £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Sarah Jane Morris & Antonio Forcione

Fri 29th Mar
Music, Jazz
Fri 29th Mar £20.00
8pm
£20.00

Blue Rose Code

Wed 10th Apr
Music
Wed 10th Apr £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Jackie Oates

Fri 12th Apr
Folk, Music
Fri 12th Apr £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Flook

Fri 3rd May
Music
Fri 3rd May £16.00
8pm
£16.00

Stacey Kent

Sat 4th May
Music, Jazz
Sat 4th May £27.50
8pm
£27.50

Geno Washington & The Yo Yo’s

Sat 11th May
Music, World Music, Soul
Sat 11th May £18.00
8pm
£18.00

Hue and Cry

Sat 1st Jun
Music
Sat 1st Jun £18.50
8pm
£18.50

Chris Wood

Sun 24th Nov
Music
Sun 24th Nov £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Download Brochure

Panto