AKA Trio feat: Antonio Forcione, Seckou Keita & Adriano Adewale | Ropetackle Arts Centre

WHAT'S ON arrow

Music, World Music, Seated

AKA Trio feat: Antonio Forcione, Seckou Keita & Adriano Adewale

Friday 15th November 2019 - Starts 8pm

TICKET PRICE: £20

Finished

“A palpable sense of rapport and delight in their music-making…leaving the audience clearly exhilarated” – THE SCOTSMAN

AKA TRIO is an international musical-summit meeting of three world-renowned virtuosos: Antonio Forcione, Seckou Keita and Adriano Adewale.

Coming from three different continents – Europe, Africa and South America – Antonio, Seckou and Adriano grew up in three different landscapes, speaking three different languages, and were formed by three different cultures and musical traditions. All these differences have converged in AKA Trio, and the product is Joy, a new album released this summer.

Italian guitarist-composer Antonio Forcione has been travelling the world for over two decades, releasing twenty albums and collaborating with many major artists along the way, including such names as Charlie Haden, Trilok Gurtu, Angelique Kidjo and the Bulgarian Voices, amongst many others.

Seckou Keita from Senegal is one of the world’s foremost kora players, involved in many international projects including his ground-breaking duo with Welsh harpist Catrin Finch and his Transparent Water project with Cuban pianist Omar Sosa.

Brazilian percussionist and composer Adriano Adewale has collaborated with Bobby McFerrin, Joanna McGregor and Benjamin Taubkin and has composed music for orchestras and dance theatre.

Together they create a joyful, uplifting and life-affirming musical collaboration.

“…prepare to be astonished…These free-flowing songs and instrumentals dazzle with a rich musical, almost monastic, minimalism where less actually does mean” 5* MICHAL BONCZA, MORNING STAR

 


What's On - Music

Date
Artist
Event
Time
Price

The West Street Duo – Free Saturday Sessions

Wed 18th Dec
Music, Free, Saturday Sessions
Wed 18th Dec £0.00
12pm-2pm
£0.00

Gary Fletcher Plays The Blues Band

Sat 11th Jan
Music, Blues
Sat 11th Jan £17.50
8pm
£17.50

The Blunter Brothers

Sat 8th Feb
Music, Soul
Sat 8th Feb £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Budapest Café Orchestra

Fri 21st Feb
Music
Fri 21st Feb £16.00
8pm
£16.00

The Rollin’ Clones

Sat 22nd Feb
Music, Rock, seated and standing
Sat 22nd Feb £23.00
8pm
£23.00

Richard Durrant: Ukes & All

Wed 26th Feb
Music, ukelele
Wed 26th Feb £17.00
7:30
£17.00

The Charlotte Glasson Band

Fri 28th Feb
Music
Fri 28th Feb £14.00
8pm
£14.00

The Unravelling Wilburys

Sat 29th Feb
Music
Sat 29th Feb SOLD OUT
8pm
SOLD OUT

The Unravelling Wilburys

Sun 1st Mar
Music
Sun 1st Mar £18.00
7.30pm
£18.00

Maroon Town

Sat 7th Mar
Music, Reggae, Ska, Rap, Dub
Sat 7th Mar £20.00
8pm
£20.00

Stevie Nimmo

Sun 22nd Mar
Music
Sun 22nd Mar £15.00
8pm
£15.00

Richard Durrant

Sat 25th Apr
Music
Sat 25th Apr £17.00
8pm
£17.00

Hatful of Rain

Sun 26th Apr
Folk, Music
Sun 26th Apr £14.00
8pm
£14.00

Tankus The Henge (All standing) + support

Thu 30th Apr
Music, All standing
Thu 30th Apr £15.00
8pm
£15.00

The Leylines

Sat 9th May
Folk, Music
Sat 9th May £12.00
8pm
£12.00

Nell Bryden

Sat 23rd May
Music
Sat 23rd May £20.00
8pm
£20.00

Download Brochure